School Council

The School Council of Omagh High School consists of a group of students who are elected from each House group in each year to represent the views of all pupils (The Pupils’ Voice).  The School Council meet regularly to discuss and address issues raised by the pupils and/or the management of the school.

They are actively involved in the consultation process relating to school policies, school rules, and uniform changes.  Their views on discipline and behaviour issues have been very useful in updating and reviewing the school policies.

The School Council is a very important, respected and influential group within the school community. Through the School Council pupils have the opportunity to contribute to School improvement through the discussion of issues that are important to them by communicating and presenting them, to staff and other pupils.

The Council gives pupils a platform on which they can join together, speak out and be heard. It provides staff involved in decision-making in School with a very valuable consultation group through which pupil opinion can be gauged on a variety of pupil issues and it also allows pupils to gain experience of the work of management in School.

The School council helps build the school community by nurturing the free flow of ideas and opinions between pupils and staff thereby promoting communication, co-operation and enhanced understanding, not only between staff and pupils but also between different year groups.

Year 8

8A: Amber Baxter

8B: Vaughn Dat-ay

8C: Lydia Boyd

Year 11

11A: Ben Kerr

11B: Emma Breydin

11C: Poppy Preston

Year 13/14

13/4 A: Lewis Dempsey

13/4 B: Ross McIvor

13/4 C: Claire Spratt

Year 9

9A: Sara Goncalves Gomes

9B: Darwin Grimes

9C: Erin Jamieson


Year 10

10A: Kirstie Kerr

10B: Craig McFarland

10C: Riley Lyons

Year 12

12A: Matthew Kerrigan

12B: Corey Nugent

12C: Matthew Cuthbertson / Jeremy Marshall

Shared Strule School Council

1: Amber Baxter

2: Vaughn Dat-ay

3: Sara Goncalves Gomes

4: Darwin Grimes

5: Lewis Dempsey

6: Claire Spratt

Reserve 1: Lydia Boyd

Reserve 2: Erin Jamieson

Reserve 3: Ross McIvor